Sun, sun, sun + ice cream

Thanks to all of the public holidays in France being crammed into May, I managed to fit in a trip (a well-deserved trip I like to think!) down to the south of France. Since arriving back from Jordan a month ago I am not exaggerating when I say I have experienced no more than around 5 vaguely warm days here in Paris. It is the middle of May and I am sat staring out at the rain lashing down on the street outside and when it decides to stop raining and I venture outside I am still wrapped up in my winter jacket. I don’t know what the world is playing at but I am not enjoying whatever it is. Whoever leaves the lights on when leaving a room needs to switch them off as this is what global warming is doing to the city of love! Anyway, as a result of having Wednesday, Thursday + Friday off work I ventured down to the Cote d’Azur to top my freckles up. I stayed there for 2 and a half days and visited Menton, Monte Carlo, Nice, Cannes and Antibes.

Menton

Monte Carlo

 

Antibes

 

Cannes

 

Nice

 

When in Nice I went to Fenocchio, an icecream parlour with an unbelievable number of ice cream flavours from vanilla to liquorice to poppy to caramel salted butter. There were enough flavours to fill up 4 ice cream trolleys and being someone who orders their books, CDs and DVDs in alphabetical order I appreciated that they divided the icecreams up into types of flavour. If my memory serves me correctly, I went there 4 times during my stay. There were so many flavours that going just the once was simply not an option. I was so devoted/greedy that I even walked 20 minutes in the pouring rain to go and get some ice cream for dessert. It was at this parlour that I tried cactus flavoured ice cream. Sometimes I wonder why I can’t just be normal and order strawberry as inevitably I do end up making some mistakes with my choices. I felt like I was eating sweetened Lenor.  All the other flavours I tried were great though and this place is definitely worth a visit!

I didn't try these flavours sadly

One thought on “Sun, sun, sun + ice cream

Leave a Reply

